Auburn catches another lucky break, Ole Miss gets hosed as SEC referees blow crucial call

Once again, Auburn was the beneficiary of a late blown call by SEC officials.

The Tigers edged Ole Miss on Saturday 35-28 thanks in part to a missed fumble on a fourth-quarter kickoff that was instead ruled a touchback.

When watching the replay, it’s clear that Auburn returner Shaun Shivers touched the ball as it bounced by. The Rebels jumped on the ball in the end zone, which should have resulted in a touchdown and given them a 34-27 lead with 5:43 remaining in regulation. But the referees didn’t even review the play.

Auburn went three-and-out on the ensuing possession, but on the following drive the Tigers took the lead on a 42-yard TD pass from Bo Nix to Seth Williams with 1:11 left to play.

It’s the second time this season the Tigers (3-2, 3-2 SEC) have benefited from a questionable call.

Two weeks ago against Arkansas, Auburn was trailing when Nix went to spike the ball on third down, but it appeared Nix threw the ball backward. The pass should have been ruled a fumble, but was instead called grounding.

Because there was no “immediate recovery” on the play, the ruling could not be challenged. Auburn went on to win 30-28.

Source: Read Full Article